Charmy is now on Patreon.com

Hello readers!


Time to kick it into high gear. I want to become syndicated so badly, but the reality is that my journey has been a rough and bumpy road. Sometimes the drive has been so lonely with posts reaching no one… post after post. Other times the trek has been humbling with a few posts reaching monstrous shares and some even being featured in other blogs.


NEW GAME PLAN
I want to make a living doing this strip. With the day job, I only have a few hours a day to work on this dream. It is very tiresome and frustrating. I stumbled upon a new site called Patreon which may be the answer I have been looking for. Patreon is a site similar to Kickstarter, but instead of getting funding for a project, this site looks for funding for your continuing work. Readers go to the site and pledge a monthly amount to comic strips they want to read. These readers who donate are called Patrons, and they receive special content that other people cannot see.

Here is my plan for utilizing Patreon. In two weeks NEW STRIPS will begin running. I have about six months of new adventures ready to ink. I will post on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays each week. Monday’s and Wednesday’s comic strips are free for everyone. Friday’s comic strips will only be visible on Patreon.com/charmysarmy for my readers who pledge $1 or more per month.

There will be all sorts of rewards for my patrons. The more money one pledges monthly, the more rewards you will receive. 

Patrons who pledge $3 or more will see daily rough sketches and special drawings AND you will be entered to receive one autographed drawing which is given away each month. Starting next month, this will be the ONLY way to get drawings from Davy for free.

Patrons who pledge $5 or more per a month will get everything mentioned PLUS they get a second entry into the monthly raffle for Davy’s sketch.

Here is the sweet level of patronage… If you pledge $10 or more monthly, you get two very cool extras!!! 
EXTRA ONE: A daily peak at my sketchbook showing the storyboard for an upcoming strip. You can actually see how my brain works when creating my cartoons! I am going to start posting these tomorrow. One page per day… Monday through Saturday.
EXTRA TWO: A monthly Cosplay illustration of Frenchy! Plus, I will take suggestions from my patrons at this level. Each month, you can help me pick which Cosplay character Frenchy will dress up as. The art will ONLY be available to patrons at this level. I have posted a free illustration already on Patreon of Frenchy as Power Girl just to give everyone a hint of what they’ll be missing out on.

I have been on Patreon for two weeks now. I see a lot of comic strips pulling in between $500 and $1500 each month. This is inspiring. I have yet to get any patrons supporting my strip, but that is understandable. I am betting it will take months before I see any support. My job is to get going and post as if I have thousands of patrons. I must show everyone how serious I am so that visitors will feel compelled to support Charmy’s Army the comic strip.

As time goes by, I will add video chats for Patrons pledging $20 or more per month. I am also thinking about some huge rewards for patrons who give BIG money. I may even begin giving away the actual art I use to create my strips. These level will not be added until I see some success on this website.

As I gain patron support, I have set goals for myself. These goals are recorded on my Patreon page for everyone to see. My big goal is for 25,000 per month where I will quit my day and do this full time. Of course I need this goal to be set for close to a year before I will pull that trigger… and of course NO ONE on Patreon has ever come anywhere close to this insane number… but I just know I will be the first to reach this level of support!

Please check out my spot over on Patreon and leave me a comment below on your thoughts. I truly care about each and every input I receive.

I also wish to thank you all for the last four years of incredible support. I am only just beginning to entertain my readers.

Later!
Davy Jones

Please Leave a Reply

