Sketch Card – Black Cat

Today’s sketch card character is a bit more obscure. Here is Marvel’s Black Cat. Frenchy wanted to dress as something a bit less commercial today. Sometimes you just have to fight the norm and do something unexpected.


As for a status update for Friday’s Amazing Houston Comic Con, I can say I am officially freaked out. I am just about out of time on everything I needed to have accomplished. I will have to deal with whatever I have prepared and just kick back and have fun.

I just remembered I have to make new signs… dang it. There is just not enough time!

I want to set goals for the show. Goals that are not crazy. I need a few reachable accomplishments. Here we go…

GOAL ONE: Sell stuff and make at least $150. This won’t pay for my table, but it will be $20 better than I did at Space City Comic Con… where I did $45 better than Comicpalooza.

GOAL TWO: Hand out 500 business cards. I need to reach as many people as possible and drag them to my website here at http://www.okracomics.com. (function(){function pw_load(){ if(arguments.callee.z)return;else arguments.callee.z=true; var d=document;var s=d.createElement(‘script’); var x=d.getElementsByTagName(‘script’)[0]; s.type=’text/javascript’;s.async=true; s.src=’//www.projectwonderful.com/pwa.js’; x.parentNode.insertBefore(s,x);} if (window.attachEvent){ window.attachEvent(‘DOMContentLoaded’,pw_load); window.attachEvent(‘onload’,pw_load);} else{ window.addEventListener(‘DOMContentLoaded’,pw_load,false); window.addEventListener(‘load’,pw_load,false);}})();

Ads by Project Wonderful! Your ad here, right now: $0


GOAL THREE: Make very good friends with the artists on either side of my table. I am not saying I need network connections. The fact is that I will do the show solo and I will need potty breaks. I have to make sure my neighbors like me so they will help watch my stuff in case the morning breakfast tacos go south

GOAL FOUR: Have at least 5 strong conversations with attendees each day. In my mind, a strong conversation is one that lasts at least 5 minutes as I talk about my strip, my dream and my future plans.

Okay, I need one last goal…. hmmm…..

GOAL FIVE: Have a blast, make friends and just enjoy being surrounded by artists more talented than I could ever dream about being. Hanging around other creative people is so much fun. I recall when I worked at DSI Toys, my coworkers made my job and long hours simply amazing. Man, I miss that job… but not THAT much. I would much rather be a lumberjack!… or a syndicated cartoonist. Whichever offers a good 401K….

– Davy



Please Leave a Reply

