Comicpalooza FanFest Day One

I arrived today at the show and was greeted by one of the artists I have befriended at these shows. He was freaking out because he went into the Convention Center and saw that nothing had been set up. The fear was that Comicpalooza canceled on us!


I went up to the observation deck and the hall was completely empty!

Well, it was just an illusion. The room was walled off so it was not visible from the observation deck! Crazy. Everything was set up and ready to go.

We were only given two hours to set up. It takes me 2 and a half hours. Today was no different. Well, when the doors opened, it did not matter as only a hand full of people arrived early and they went straight to the celebrities. 

The show was dead. Throughout the entire day, I handed out 117 business card. I handed them out to nearly everyone who passed by. At a normal show, I will hand out about 400 cards each day and at a great show I will hand out about 600 cards each day.

I talked with some extremely awesome attendees though. I love people. I love giving back to the attendees. They are not there for us. I believe we, the artists, are there for them. I usually talk more about them then I do about my strip if they stick around my table long enough. I love to entertain and make the attendees happy. I feel the need to pick their brains and see what makes them tick. That is what I did today.

Speaking of “picking your brains”, one of the most interesting groups of people I talked with were these guys. Turns out they are all from the Clear Lake area like me. Fun group as you can see! This was a typical scene with me and the people I talked with. They are all so nice. No matter how bad I am doing profit-wise, these amazing attendees are making my efforts priceless!

Tomorrow, I have volunteered to do 25 free sketches for first kids to request one. I cannot wait. I have a feeling that Comicpalooza will be awesome tomorrow for all of the vendors. It is family day and that usually means a lot of people. Time will tell I guess.

Gotta get back to a commission. Someone wants a Joker tattoo. I am nearly finished. If he likes it, I will post it tomorrow for everyone to see.

– Davy  (function(){function pw_load(){ if(arguments.callee.z)return;else arguments.callee.z=true; var d=document;var s=d.createElement(‘script’); var x=d.getElementsByTagName(‘script’)[0]; s.type=’text/javascript’;s.async=true; s.src=’//www.projectwonderful.com/pwa.js’; x.parentNode.insertBefore(s,x);} if (window.attachEvent){ window.attachEvent(‘DOMContentLoaded’,pw_load); window.attachEvent(‘onload’,pw_load);} else{ window.addEventListener(‘DOMContentLoaded’,pw_load,false); window.addEventListener(‘load’,pw_load,false);}})();

Ads by Project Wonderful! Your ad here, right now: $0

Please Leave a Reply

