Comicpalooza FanFest Day Two

The show is over! What a weekend.

 
The staff and volunteers with Comicpalooza are top notch. This show has the best volunteers out of all the shows I have attended and the show coordinators are just amazing. They truly care about all of their vendors.
 
Yesterday the turnout was pretty weak. Today it was extremely low. I do not blame Comicpalooza. Things just happen. I handed out 12 business cards today. Yep, there was no one at the show today. This was my biggest loss so far. 
 
I had an attendee request a commission yesterday. I should have taken money up front.

The person did not return today. I spent three hours sketching Jokers last night trying to get the look down correctly. The request was for a Joker who looked similar to the character from the new Teen Titans animated TV series. Basically a big head with a small body. I researched clips on Youtube and images on Google for about a half hour and sketched 25 Joker heads until I came up with the perfect look. I really love the result! I probably put about 3 hours into this. This was going to be used as a tattoo for the guy. I was pretty excited to tell everyone I was now a tattoo artist! Man, that would have been so cool. The show was so small. I am sure the guy just couldn’t justify another day. I’ll keep the art on hand for my next two shows in case he comes back. If not, I have a cool Joker to do something with. Maybe I will make a new print series out of this style for people who care less about my ants.

 
I had such a great feeling about the show on Friday. I actually stayed up until 2:00 am Friday night working on new print cards. Wish I had rested instead.

The good news is that I met some great vendors and made stronger bonds with the vendors I already knew from previous shows. I also made a few kids very happy doing free sketches on Sunday… I did this to help out Comicpalooza in attaching more attendees. It was great fun, just wish people were in a buying mood. This show really set me and my goals for the year back. I am now down about $600 for the year. This has been a bad year, but I am still learning. Next year, I am going to have an amazing year and Comicpalooza will be a huge part of that success. The show’s coordinators are top notch. I bet they make this experience up to us and put on an amazing show in a few months when they return from this FanFest first year show.
 
Next week I am doing ComiCulture in League City. I have a feeling this show is going to be the best one yet!!!! Yep, here I go again…. 🙂 Setting those expectations way too high!!!… lolol….
 
– Davy
 
  
2 thoughts on “Comicpalooza FanFest Day Two

Please Leave a Reply

